My first blog post…


Hey everyone, welcome to my new blog!
For years, I have been interested in setting up a site that is dedicated to outdoor family activities from a dad’s perspective. I hope you enjoy this little new experiment of mine.

I’ve started this blog out of an obsession. For both myself and my wife, its important to get out of the house on the weekends and explore with the kids – something that most families enjoy doing. But lots of activities can get old and repetitive rather quick, whether it’s a local play date, a trip to the movies or a visit to nearest indoor play center. After all, there’s only a number of times you can take your children to the Aquarium or Museum of Science.

But there is also more to enjoy than these normal types of activities. There is so much to see and explore all over New England, particularly outside, that can be challenging and/or intimidating for families to learn about. Normally, toward the end of the week, I’m starting to think about fun places to take the kids on a Saturday or Sunday and sometimes have difficulty finding good websites that provide solid information, whether it be a beach, park or state forest. Many times I find myself hopelessly scrambling on the internet to find an adventure on the fly. Try Googling “what’s a good place to take a 3 year old outside hiking” and see how little you find. I’ve bought endless travel books whenever I stroll into a Barnes & Nobles and sometimes I still feel like I don’t have a good handle on where to go.

Through a series of trial and error, my wife and I have been able to cobble together a great list of places to take our children. My goal is to blog about some of these spots and to learn from others where to take our kids! I am hoping to generate a conversation that provides some good information for parents and to get feedback on places we may not know about!

I also plan to post occasionally about different types of equipment, gear, and clothing that we use on some of our trips – and how they may help make some of your travel more enjoyable with the kids!

I look forward to blogging with all of you!

Christian

 

Leave a Reply

